Christmas Bootygrooves

22 Dec

Hey Ya’ll. It’s a well-known fact that I cannot stand Christmas music. However instead of bitching about that incessantly like I usually do I’ve decided to roundup a few of the Christmas tunes that I can stomach. First up a classic from my main man Louis Armstrong: Zat You Santa Claus?? Amazing.

Next up from across the pond the Darkness (from back in their glory days) with “Christmas Time (Don’t Let the Bells End)” all I gotta say is Robot choir: .

This one will be a bit more divisive but I can’t make a list like this and not acknowledge the more destitute side of the cold season (don’t worry it’s got some great light comedic moments as well). Here’s Tom Waits with “Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis” God I love that man.

You had to know this would be on here. Picking it back up again (at least musically) it’s Wham! and their classic “Last Christmas”

I hate putting more Brits on here but Brett Domino is amazing. Here’s his Christmas single from last year.

Goddamnit, I’m just giving into the Brits. I remember when  I was totally obsessed with the Pipettes and then their album was mostly mediocre. Oh well. At least they did a pretty sweet arrangement of a Christmas Classic:

Ummm so I think that’s about it. And now I remember that Wham! were Brits too. I guess they basically have the stranglehold on decent Christmas music.  Let me know if I’m missing anything. Doubt it.

3 Responses to “Christmas Bootygrooves”

  1. johnpaul December 22, 2009 at 12:39 am #

    fuck, i forgot this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXQViqx6GMY
    that’s one more point for the americans!!

  2. Nate December 22, 2009 at 1:05 am #

    You forgot Sparks:

    • johnpaul December 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

      oh wow. so i guess this explains where my morning pick me up gets its name from.

Leave a Reply

